Living in Wageningen

Living in Wageningen means living in the heart of the Netherlands. Here, you can enjoy the historic city centre, great amenities and surrounding nature. You'll quickly see why more than 37,000 residents love living here. Wageningen is the City of Liberty and the City of Life Sciences. It's a city with an international, social, creative and sustainable identity, all nestled right in the middle of Gelderland's natural beauty, along the Veluwerand, the Gelderse Valley and the River Rhine. The city celebrated its 750th anniversary in 2013.

Would you like to move to Wageningen and are you looking for a home? Below you'll see where you can go for more information on the different types of homes available in Wageningen.

Private properties

Wageningen has a range of estate agents selling both new and existing homes. Several websites and phone numbers are listed below.

  • ERA Makelaars Barten Tiemessen: www.barten-tiemessen.nl or 0317-422600
  • Jeltes ten Hoor Makelaardij: www.jeltes-tenhoor.nl or 0317-421225
  • Breunissen Makelaars: www.breunissenmakelaars.nl or 0317-425600
  • Mobach Makelaardij: www.mobach.nu of 0317-418888
  • Regio Makelaars Nederrijn: /www.regiomakelaars.com or 0317 - 424 999
  • HJT Makelaars: www.hjtmakelaars.nl of 0317-425000
  • Hanita Arns Makelaardij:www.arnsmakelaardij.nl or 0317-358916
     

Social housing

A social housing home is a rental property that costs up to €710.68 for households with a maximum income of €36,165 (2017). To be eligible for a home, you first need to register at www.huiswaarts.nu. There is a waiting period of at least a year for most homes, but there are also homes that are available via a lottery system. Social housing is mainly let by a housing corporation called De Woningstichting, www.dewoningstichting.nl or call 0317-0800-0317.  They can further assist you with information and advice. De Woningstichting also has a limited number of homes available for households with a gross annual income of €36,165 and €43,000. There are also private parties, like Van der Vorm Vastgoed (vormvastgoed.nl/complex/wooncomplex-nude-wageningen), or www.ikwilhuren.nu and www.stadsbrink.com, who offer rents lower than €710. You may also qualify for rent benefit for these homes, depending on your age and income.

Private housing market/private sector rental properties

In theory, these are homes with rental prices starting at €710. Depending on your income, you may also be eligible for these homes. The rule of thumb that landlords often use is that your income must be three or four times the monthly rent.

Temporary rental

If you prefer a temporary rental, there are several options:

  • Blok Huisbeheer (www.blok-huisbeheer.nl or 0317-414811) rents the often-furnished homes of Wageningen residents who are temporarily abroad.
  • Short Stay, www.shortstaywageningen.nl (or 06-48418116) rents furnished rooms or apartments on a temporary basis.